top of page

I Met Love Beneath the Cross


Recently I put an offer out into the void to write a poem for anyone who asked. Tell me what you'd like, I'll write it. I was contacted by a sweet friend who asked if I could write a poem on love and marriage for her husband's birthday. This was new territory, because while I've shared my writing publicly for a long time and even written many poems about people, I've never written specifically for a gift. I was immediately plagued by sharp little thoughts like nothing you could write will be good enough and they won't like it, but I quickly squashed those doubts under my heel and got to work. The result was two half hour sessions writing in front of the Blessed Sacrament. While I don't pretend to know what marriage is exactly like, I've been friends with enough engaged couples and been fortunate enough to witness the beautiful, faith-filled walk of many who have undertaken the sacrament, this couple included. So here is my poem, written for Brandon and Malia, and dedicated to all married couples and those hoping to be married. I hope it blesses you all.

---

I met love beneath the cross.

I thought that I knew love before, but

that wasn’t exactly true.

Though,

love knew me.

love sought me out through my mistakes, past the width of my doubt.

In the midst of fear, love sought me.

I met love beneath the cross,

and love looks different now.

love isn’t bitter tears,

or unanswered questions,

or days in the dark.

Instead,

love kisses tears off my cheek,

counters question with strength,

consumes darkness with the light of his eyes.

I met love beneath the cross,

and love smiled back, made me a promise.

Even when the days are long,

even when the work is hard,

even when hope seems far away,

love is there.

love is always, always there.

love is a morning kiss,

a secret joke,

a task divided.

a dream deferred for something greater than I have ever dreamt before.

I met love beneath the cross.

I placed my hand in his and let love lead me.

love has been the death of me,

yet through it came new life,

abounding sweetness,

oceans of grace.

I met love beneath the cross,

and now,

we chase Love together.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page